top of page

Reflections

Warm August greetings to anyone and everyone who manages to stumble upon this blog of simple thoughts and photography. I have been lost in the moment of life, tying my best to readjust as an employed human being during this new phase of COVID-19.

I hope everyone is healthy and finding their rare butterfly in life, whether it be a partner, career, or aspiration. Finding happiness is incredibly important, especially during these trying times. This virus has really thrown a wrench into the lives of everyone. So, if anyone is struggling, take comfort in knowing that everyone around you is as well. Sometimes the idea of not being alone makes all the difference. Mind over matter is such a favorable goal when it comes to anxiety and negative thinking: So, stay strong and keep smiling and push forward.


Anyway, I found myself wandering the South Loop of Chicago a few days ago, looking into the eyes of half-covered faces. It's strange to see such appearances in a world we once were able to breath safely in. For most of us, our lives have never been so close to near danger. And, let me say, it is quite a difference coming from where we were this time last August. I cannot help but, continuously, compare how autumn will be like to how is was last year.


Did anyone do anything exciting last Fall Solstice? I remember being ridiculously excited for fall that I was already filling autumn candy dishes with Reese's pumpkin candies and glow-in-the-dark Kit-Kat bars while also hanging lights and igniting the scent of apple spice throughout my house.


I remember walking around Streetervile one morning while killing time before I met up with my sister at the Dwight Lofts. I had gone into the Levi's store three times to try on a black denim jacket that I so badly wanted to have. Even though I knew the temperature would drop that evening while we were out, I figured I would hold off. As par, my sister let me borrow her candy corn cardigan that I bought her, which I swapped out for our momma's old blue worn-out flannel. Heading out into the city, we took the red line to Grand station in River North.


My sister and I, along with two others, went to California Pizza Kitchen. It was a disaster but is was worth every minute. Thanks to normality checking out five months ago, these moments from the past are rare memories, and it's unsure if we'll ever be able to have the chance to make similar ones again.


All in all, that night was a chapter of fantastic fear as we wound up at the AMC Theatre near Navy Pier for a night showing of It: Chapter Two. It was the last week of September, I believe, and we were hyped on Pennywise and scary shit. But things are different now: We don't have movie theatres for the time being, and I hardly doubt that there will be any movies released in time for the great pumpkin month of October.

Although, I am anticipating the opening of Halloween stores. I would love to go to Lincoln Park's Apple Festival and Pumpkin Pop-Up. All I can do is wait and hope. Maybe, just maybe, I will get lucky and they will open with regulations that meet COVID-19 standards.

Until then, I will be quietly buying little stuff here and there to make my house feel extra warm and spooky. I might even be doing some wicked photography shoots at haunted hotels in the city. And I hope you join me here so I can share all the autumn feels I find with both my lens and time spent in the city.


Photographer: Danielle H. Barker


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page