top of page

Memorial Sunday

Warm, humid air does not circulate in Chicago. The air conditioner barely cools the house down. Although the size of the house probably keeps it working harder- four floors and there seems to only be vents on the first two. Nonetheless, lukewarm air seems to blow from the vents instead.

It’s taken nearly three hours with the air running but it hasn’t helped a degree. In fact, the inside temperature has only risen. Now, correct me if I’m wrong, but isn’t that the opposite of what an air conditioner is supposed to do? The whole purpose is to cool the house off, not warm it up.


My landlord has left for the holiday weekend. Joy. It’s the ultimate holiday marker for the beginning of summer: Memorial Day weekend. Maybe it's quarantine, or perhaps it’s my mood, but, for the first time in five years, I am actually dreading summer.


The beaches are closed. Masks are required everywhere. Work is just not the same.


I feel agitated. I'm restless and warm and stressed. I can't find peace because I refuse to stop worrying about things out of my control. I need to seriously stop and live for today, this evening, not for whatever the hell it is I'm creating in my head that will happen in a month or so from now. And, let me be honest, here: These fears that have been lurking in my head these past few days of what I think will happen in the future are greatly exaggerated, I know.


Why are thoughts so powerful?


Anyway, part of me isn’t ready to go back to work. I’m most certain it’s because I’m not happy with my job. Then again, who is?


I’ve spent the last few hours taking a nap after I got a headache from sitting in the heat today. I shouldn't have gone out to use the deck, even for those few minutes. I’m paying for it.


I was reading about ways to cool yourself down. Apparently mint baths are a thing. I wouldn’t mind taking a mint bath, if only I had mint salts or bath bombs. I guess I could throw fresh mint leaves in the water to soak with me. Mint is supposed to be a lovely cooler and it’s so good for the skin. Now I’m craving iced mint tea, or mint ice cream...


Is it almost Labor Day weekend?

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page